My pregnancy roleplay in Second Life

People join Second Life for many reasons. Curiosity about something new to try, a will to meet new people and treat this virtual world like a very advanced 3D chatroom, an inability to meet people in real life because of various reasons (a disability, being shy, timezone differences etc.)… to be honest, if you’d take even a small slice of the SL community in a random way and asked each of the residents about their reason to join I bet, that you’d get at least twenty different answers.

I am jumping from region to region and pushing my nose into every possible place for immersion and roleplay. Yes, I try to live inside Second Life as an inflatable, balloonie wolf, trying to react like one would in all given situations – to the degree, that when other people swim in a lake, I just politely sit at the side and read a book or comic. Balloons can’t dive because of the water pushing them up to the surface, isn’t it? As a reporter and journalist person I keep a photo camera close to my belt and when something interesting happens I take a picture or ask people around what’s happening, trying to make notes.

I am also a female. While by default a SL avatar is just a bunch of textures, alpha layers and masks, and several 3D objects, called attachments, positioned relatively to the various points of the body, you can try and squeeze a bit more from it by roleplay augmentation devices. I’m not a fan of combat mechanics that much, so I’ve decided to try the “Mama Allpa” HUD thingy and some automatic body shape changer – it emulates a feminine monthly cycle pretty well. I’ve started to adjust to the readings and continuing such behaviour since then; When the text above the icon on screen is red, which means the painful and messy time for a girl, I’m roleplaying being irritated and ill-tempered. When white, which is the most of the month, I’m just my regular self, wiggling nose at everything. However, when pink colour shows up I’m appearing to be more clingy and purring at most of the males, for obvious reason, with shirts being too small and bosom too sensitive. You have the idea, I’m not going to go any deeper.

Long story short, during one of such periods I’ve actually gave myself in to the feeling and spent a night on an adventure, the effect of such action is easily predictable.

Immersion of the roleplay is always the most important for me, so I didn’t cheat and reset the HUD. Instead of that I’ve looked around for a clinic or hospital, where I could poke a doctor for check-up. That’s where fun starts, because finding a good one is as challenging, as fishing for a needle in a river. From what I’ve encountered so far, there are people who charge for their services and there are ones who volunteer – the fact, that you pay for service does not mean, that the quality of the appointment would be better, one doctor differs from the other one greatly as well.

Majority of them try to fit in thirty minutes from what I’ve noticed, and they do the usual blood – vitals – scale, sometimes asking what do I eat. These are, to be honest, not too interesting. Good, sure, but they look more like a craft-work, not a truly interactive meetings. Sit here, wait, please sit there, wait again, here is your vitamin, see you next time. Luckily, there is a group, however a small one, which do not care about time and are happy that they can roleplay midwives, too. One of them was so kind to offer me a lollipop with a flavour of helium. Thanks!

Is it worth to roleplay pregnancy in Second Life? Yes, with augmentation HUDs its more fun than it looks – only at the beginning you may be called fat. ~ Is it hard to find someone to help you with that theme? A partner person, a true one, for long-term – not just a one shot – is a rarity. A fine doctor, easy to find if you look long and deep enough. I won’t give any names here, explore by yourself!

Author: Sarah Whitten

A freelance reporter and journalist, who exists mostly in Second Life virtual world.

Leave a Reply

